SNB.

You’ll have to forgive me for my lack of posts. I was doing so well with NaBloPoMo, until my work life exploded in my face. So…sorry!

Sunday night I met with my Stitch n’ Bitch group, and it occurred to me that my SNB girls deserve their very own entry. We meet once a month, most months. The thing I’ve noticed is that these meetings do two things:

  • They keep me interested and motivated in my current projects.
  • They are good for my soul.

There are just the three of us that have met once a month over the last year and a half. What is great about our get togethers is that the SNB gals are far enough removed from my everyday life that I feel pretty free – if I need to talk about my family or my job, it’s not like they know the people I’m talking about really well. They also do a great job of giving me some perspective. We are all in different life spots, too, so a fresh approach or a veteran one does me wonders.

From a knitting perspective, I’ve noticed that I want to show progress on my projects every month. I want to learn new techniques. I want to share. This keeps me motivated. We compare notes, patterns and knitting books. I think our collective skills have improved because we muddle through tricky patterns together. Projects that would have been set aside have new life.

The knitting pushed our relationships along at the beginning. Now the knitting gives us a constant reason to take time out to see each other. People giggle when I tell them I get together with some friends to knit. Maybe it sounds funny, but you’d be amazed at how social it is..the bitching, asking for help, laughing, talking about whatever we need to…all with some knitting needles in our hands.

Like I said, it’s good for my soul.

-dk

One Response

  1. You are good for our souls as well. Plus, you are the expert among us – we’d both have frogged several projects if not for you!

Leave a Reply

